Back to all reports

I arrived in Burford ( Witney Street) on Friday 13th Sept. for a weeks holiday. On taking luggage out of the boot of my car, I badly twisted my left ankle on the edge of a gully at the side of the road next to the fire station. This resulted in torn ligaments in my left ankle which was extremely painful and ultimately resulted in a visit to Witney MIU hospital on 15th Sept. to check it wasnt broken. Fortunately it was torn ligaments only but this has severely affected my mobility this week while on holiday which is far from ideal. I have photographs of the injury and offending gully if you need them. I wiukd duggest that this is filled in urgently to avoid future injury.

Reported in the Roads/highways category anonymously at 07:27, Tuesday 17 September 2019

Sent to Oxfordshire County Council 3 minutes later

It's right on the edge of Witney Street, ( left hand side of the road heading towards Burford high street) next to the Fire station, near the end of a row of terrace cottages. Its a hidden gully on the edge of the tarmac now filled with leaves.

Council ref: ENQ19842722

RSS feed of updates to this problem Receive email when updates are left on this problem.


  • Thank you for your enquiry. This issue has been passed onto the relevant team for investigation.

    State changed to: Investigating

    Posted by Oxfordshire County Council at 07:30, Tuesday 17 September 2019

  • Photographs of the offending gulley on the side of the road.

    Posted anonymously at 16:52, Tuesday 17 September 2019

  • Thank you for your report. Gully has been highlighted with white paint.

    State changed to: Investigation complete

    Posted by Oxfordshire County Council at 10:38, Monday 23 September 2019

  • Having been informed that you have highlighted the offending gully with just white paint, I cannot understand why you haven't filled in the gully with tarmac to fix the problem permanently and avoid someone else having the same misfortune as I did? This accident was entirely avoidable if only Oxford City council had maintained the road infrastructure correctly. It significantly impacted my mobility which meant I couldn't do the walking that I wanted to do around the Cotswold villages while on holiday. A waste of a weeks holiday let alone the £700 I had to spend on a cottage which turned out to be a waste of money because I couldnt walk anywhere properly. Let alone the pain I had to endure and the impact that this has had on my mobility subsequently. But despite all of this it would have been nice to have got an apology at least from Oxford City Council highways dept for the pain and disruption this has caused me. But sadly I have recieved nothing. I guess not to be unexpected!


    Richard Hughes

    Posted anonymously at 16:22, Friday 4 October 2019

Provide an update

Your information will only be used in accordance with our privacy policy

Next: Tell us about you

Your update

Tell us about you

Do you have a FixMyStreet password?