Back to all reports

Very noisy drain cover in road

Reported via iOS in the Roads/highways category anonymously at 09:04, Sat 5 May 2018

Sent to Oxfordshire County Council 1 minute later

There is a very loose and noisey drain/manhole cover on the main A338 which is being hit by almost every vehicle causing noise disturbances for nearby residences 24 hours a day

RSS feed of updates to this problem Receive email when updates are left on this problem.

Updates

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 14:15, Sat 2 June 2018

  • Man hole in the road is still unfixed and very noisy a month after reporting this. Not marked as being attended to. Nearby residents are annoyed by virtually every vehicle going noisily over the manhole!

    Posted anonymously at 17:15, Wed 6 June 2018

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 14:44, Sat 30 June 2018

  • Please advise why this problem is not being fixed? The noise disturbance at night from heavy vehicles going over the manhole/drain cover is very loud.

    Posted anonymously at 23:22, Thu 5 July 2018

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 15:50, Sat 28 July 2018

  • Thank you for your report, we are now investigating this issue and an update will be posted as soon as possible.

    State changed to: Investigating

    Posted by Oxfordshire County Council at 11:15, Tue 31 July 2018

  • This loose and sunken drain/manhole cover is getting louder and louder as cars and especially lorries go over it. Vehicles are also taking avoiding action by driving into the opposing lane to miss driving over it. Please fix this asap

    Posted anonymously at 08:44, Fri 17 August 2018

  • Thank you for your enquiry, this is not an OCC manhole and has been reported to SSE. They should repair this within 28days.

    State changed to: No further action

    Posted anonymously at 11:15, Thu 23 August 2018

  • Thanks for your updated action. I’ve also reported the issue to SSE yesterday and they were sending someone out to look at it yesterday afternoon so hopefully we will get a repair done very soon.

    State changed to: Open

    Posted anonymously at 08:15, Fri 24 August 2018

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 18:47, Sat 25 August 2018

  • Hi SSE say it’s not their problem as I reported to you 2-3 weeks ago. What’s happening about getting this fixed?

    Posted anonymously at 15:40, Mon 17 September 2018

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 06:58, Sun 23 September 2018

  • Thank you for your update, we will investigate this with our contractors.

    State changed to: Investigating

    Posted anonymously at 13:06, Tue 25 September 2018

  • Sunken and very noisy Drain/manhole/utilities cover still not fixed after 5 months of reporting. Please provide an update

    Posted anonymously at 16:07, Wed 17 October 2018

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 07:50, Sun 21 October 2018

  • Still not fixed and getting worse!!

    Posted anonymously at 13:38, Sun 18 November 2018
    Still open, via questionnaire

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 14:31, Sun 16 December 2018

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 15:26, Sunday 13 January 2019

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 15:35, Sunday 10 February 2019

  • Still not fixed and getting worse!

    Posted anonymously at 15:37, Sunday 10 February 2019

Provide an update

Your information will only be used in accordance with our privacy policy

Next: Tell us about you

Your update

Tell us about you

Do you have a FixMyStreet password?